Postaday / Travel Theme / Weekly Photo Challenge

Weekly Photo Challenge – Happy. Travel Theme – Animal. New Tiled Galleries – my review of the new gallery styles

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Fufu’s pictures in slideshow

thumbnail

circle

 

square

 

rectangular

 

Dear friends:

I am sorry if this post has bored or puzzled you.  This post has been created in  response to:

WordPress’s new post –  Streamline Your Photos With New Tiled Galleries,

WordPress’s  Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy,

and a fellow blogger Alisa’s Travel Theme Animals.

The animal posted is Fufu, my dear niece’s loving cat.  These pictures were taken when I visited her while I went for a business trip in Washington D.C. not too long ago.  Fufu is the subject of happiness of her master.  Take a look at her expression and movements.  Don’t you think that the people around her are happy, including me?

I also tried to use all the different new tiled gallery styles provided now by WordPress, to see which one reigns supreme.  Which one would you prefer?  Please give your opinion from a user’s point of view.

My own preference?  I prefer to just default to the old thumbnail style, and then I can still decide to use any other styles in different posts.

I tried defaulting to “Display all your gallery pictures in a cool mosaic.” in my food blog. Please look at this post:

Besides Turkish Coffee and Greek Desserts

I found that I did not have control which picture should be placed here or there, or which should be bigger or smaller.  The result is not to my satisfaction e.g. a picture of a dessert which is not very pretty, is placed in a bigger rectangle than others.  So, I may change it back.   I am leaving it that way for a day or two so that readers may have the opportunity to compare with others.

If you like the “automatic” type of help, you may like it.  For me, I prefer to be in control and to manage each gallery myself.  I think diversity in different posts will be more interesting.  After all, I like the original thumbnail style which is quite clean and neat. Don’t you think so?

I would appreciate to get some feedback or tips from you.  Thank you in advance.  Meanwhile, I hope you will still enjoy these pictures of Fufu.

P.S.  Tell you a secret:  I only “discovered” how to insert the gallery two days ago when I saw all the beautiful galleries of my fellow blogger friends.  Then the new styles came out on the same night when I was making changes to some of my old posts by inserting galleries to these posts.   It seems that I do have ESP, as I told my friends today!  I am quite happy about this unexpected bonus!

29 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Happy. Travel Theme – Animal. New Tiled Galleries – my review of the new gallery styles

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy « What's (in) the picture?

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy | R Shad

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy | Life of 24 Hours

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy « Becca's Photo Blog

  5. Pingback: Happy « Monochrome

  6. I like the staggered arrangement the most. Next comes the circles, then the squares. Good work! Not allowed to like because I am not a member

  7. Pingback: Chinese Banquet Menu | food for thought

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo challenge : “Happy” – with a tinge of sad « Just another wake-up call

  9. I just tried this new gallery setting out myself (thank you, btw, for the ‘like’ on it), and I have to say I’m not too crazy about not having control over which one is bigger & smaller. But I’ll leave it for now. Probably go back to the original settings in the future though. Fufu is adorable, by the way – if hubby weren’t allergic, I’d have a cat or ten myself.

I appreciate your comments

