argentina / Brazil / post a week / South America / Travel Photos / Weekly Photo Challenge

Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise – The Beautiful Iguazu Falls (My South America Trip #1)

This post is in response to the Weekly Photo Challenge – Surprise.

As I mentioned in my previous post, I just came back from a three-weeks’ trip to South America.  This was a trip that we all considered as the most beautiful one, with the most beautiful sceneries.  We traveled with a group of friends who have traveled around the world and have seen many beautiful things.  Yet, we all think that this is the most beautiful trip. We have all been to the Niagara Falls, and have seen glaciers in Alaska. None of these is comparable to the beauty we saw this time.  It is a surprise to me particularly, as I usually look for objects and subjects of cultural nature when I travel.  This trip did not include visits to art museums, and there were no concerts (although there were shows), but I enjoyed it so much that I also surprised myself.

On this post, I would like to feature the Iguazu Falls.  The Iguazu Falls are waterfalls of the Iguazu River on the border of Brazil and Argentina. We went to see the views on both sides of the borders.  In Brazil, we saw the grand overview.  In Argentina, we got to see the closer look.  I am posting here a short movie which I made from a number of short video clips.  I took these videos with my iPhone at both Brazilian and Argentina borders of the Iguazu Falls.  This is my first attempt to produce a combined video like this, with music provided by you-tube video editor.  The outcome is surprisingly good.

There was an exciting part of the excursion to the Iguazu Falls but I was unable to take pictures.  It was the boat ride to the bottom of the Falls.  We were all wearing rain gears.  My friend (thank you, JL) particularly bought some beautiful cute rain coats for me and our small group of friends.  However, none of us was dry after the boat ride.  All of us were wet from top to bottom, inside and outside. We were forbidden to take the camera out to take photos.  Everything we brought were put into a zipped bag provided to each of us. The boat went at high-speed with all of us shouting and crying in excitement.   This was a direct contact with the strong power of nature, and definitely an unforgettable experience.  If you think that it is something like the boat rides on the Niagara Falls, which are easy, you’d better be more prepared for this one!

No doubt the Iguazu Falls are one of the great natural wonders of the world.  As I described in the movie posted on you-tube, none of the videos or photos (even if they are created by professionals), would do justice to the beauty of the Iguazu Falls.  We all need to be there to see, to listen, and to feel.   I was happy that I was there.  I came, I saw, I was conquered!

I am also posting some photos of the Iguazu Falls in slideshow and tiles gallery for your view.   I will periodically post other photos and video of this South America trip as well.  Please stay tuned for my future posts on this blog.  There will also be a food section on my food blog. Meanwhile, I hope you will enjoy the sceneries of the Iguazu Falls.   Gracias!

Slideshow

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Gallery

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise – The Beautiful Iguazu Falls (My South America Trip #1)

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise! | Mirth and Motivation

  2. Thank you for sharing, it’s lovely. In fact I went there in March 2010 and was very impressed by it too. I like the Argentina side a bit more, the views are diverse and stunning; however I prefer the viewing deck of the Brazilian side, more than the Devil’s Throat of Argentina. I still remember how I got all wet when stretching myself to both viewing decks. Memorable indeed! Glad that you took the courage to ride the jet boat, which I did not venture …..

    • I wasn’t afraid. But when you get wet, of course you will not feel too comfortable. The wether was very hot. We had to walk a long way down many steps to get to the boat, and then come up after the ride. Due to the hot weather, and lacking of water to drink ( you won’t carry so much stuff on this type of excursion), some members did not feel well. It was like once in a lifetime experience. You have got to do it next time.

  3. Stunning photos and journey! 🙂
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Happy Holidays to You & Yours!.♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜” ♥ ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”
    Eliz

    • Hello, thank you for visiting my blog and your kind comments. If people do not have health issues, the steps are really not too many, in comparison to a few mountains that I climbed: Huang Shan , Shan Ching Shan, and Lu Shan. Huang Shan particularly. Once you are there , you will be very happy.

I appreciate your comments

