A Word a Week – Photo Challenge – Cloud – My Flight from Rio to Iguazu Falls …and Georgia O’Keeffe’s Sky Above Clouds

This post is in response to  Word in Your Ear’s A Word A Week Photo Challenge – Cloud.

When I saw this subject : “Cloud”, my immediate thought was the big painting “Sky Above Clouds” of Georgia O’Keeffe in the Art Institute of Chicago.  I saw this painting some years ago hanging above the big staircase at the Art Institute of Chicago.  I couldn’t help falling in love with this wonderful piece of work.   O’Keeffe created this painting because she was inspired by the clouds that she saw while she was flying everywhere around the world.  I found this excerpt about this painting at the website of Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Georgia O’Keeffe (1887–1986) | Thematic Essay | Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History | The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Sky Above Clouds IV, 1965
Georgia O’Keeffe (American, 1887–1986)
Oil on canvas; 8 x 24 ft.
Restricted gift of the Paul and Gabriella Rosenbaum Foundation; gift of Georgia O’Keeffe (1983.821)
The Art Institute of Chicago
© The Georgia O’Keeffe Foundation / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

“Among the most dramatic and well-known images of O’Keeffe’s later years are her cloudscapes of the 1960s and ’70s. Traveling around the world, she was exhilarated by the views seen from an airplane window. She described the changing patterns and colors as “breathtaking” and was moved to interpret these sights and feelings in paint. At first she painted contemplative pictures that showed the sky covered with a blanket of solid white clouds; later, a series of lively canvases filled with puffy white clouds and blue sky that stretch to infinity. O’Keeffe’s Sky Above Clouds IV of 1965 was the most ambitious work in the series, and realized her long-time ambition to create a huge mural-size painting.”

Unlike O’Keeffe, I never chose the window seat when I fly.  However, in my last trip to South America, I was “assigned” to a window seat as I traveled with a group.  We were flying from Rio de Janeiro (Brazil) to Iguazu Falls.  Suddenly, I looked out from the window, and my attention was immediately caught by the beautiful clouds and their patterns.  I did think of O’Keeffe’s painting at that time.  I took out my camera which was my iPhone, and took a series of “cloud” pictures.  As the plane was moving, so were the clouds.  I love each motion of the clouds.  Please enjoy them.  Was I inspired to do something…?   I was actually inspired by O’Keeffe to take these pictures.  I am glad that I have the opportunity to share with you now.

Please note that the last few pictures were taken “on the ground” after my arrival at Iguazu falls.  See the blue clouds comparing to the grey clouds that I saw on the plane.  Which set of clouds would be more inspirational to you?

Slideshow

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Gallery

10 Comments Add yours

    1. friendlytm says:

      Thanks so much for visiting my blog and warm comments. I am glad that you like them.

  1. Clouds always make me to think of Rene Magritte.

    1. friendlytm says:

      Thank you for mentioning Rene Magritte. I looked up his work and noticed quite a few have clouds. But I am more impressed with his ” the lovers” in MOMA. Currently SF MOMA is exhibiting Jasper Johns who is one of the artists influenced by Rene Magritte. Did you write a post about Rene Magritte’s the lovers? I saw it a while ago…

      1. Yes, I wrote a post on The Lovers, very brief though. I like Magritte’s works and ideas. In fact I have 7 posts on him in my Blog, I also love to “publicise” the Belgian Artists.

      2. friendlytm says:

        I do have good memory! May be it is time to write another post on him.

  2. TBM says:

    I was unaware of her cloud paintings. Thanks for sharing. And I enjoyed your photos.

    1. friendlytm says:

      It is not on display now,. Look out for it…perhaps it will be back again. Thanks for stopping by.

I appreciate your comments

