My South America Trip #13 – Bariloche (Part IV) – Victoria Island and Arrayanes National Park

Picture 384

Photo Credit:  PC

After having some fun time on Cau Cau with the sea-gulls, we landed at Victoria Island and visited the Arrayanes National Park.

While looking for some information about this site, I found this blog which describes beautifully the Victoria Island and the Arrayanes National Park.

http://www.sayhueque.com/argentinatravel/bariloche-victoria-island/

“The island was severely deforested for timber until the 1920s when the Argentinian agricultural minister decided to create an experimental tree nursery. In an attempt to revive the habitat, numerous exotic species were planted with larger than life sequoias and perfect pines standing straight to reach the sky. Here, the giant flapping leaves and branches of sequoias, thujas and eucalyptus join hands to provide protection from the frequent avalanche of rain.

Just across the shoreline at Puerto Quetrihué on the south of the peninsula is  the Arrayanes National Park. It was formerly part of its neighbour Nahuel Huapi until 1971 when it was created in order to preserve the unique wood that is its main inhabitant.

With the myrtle forest being home to specimens up to 15 metres in height and between 500 and 650 years old, you feel part of a model village down at ground level. Interestingly, immersed in the thick landscape of the trees is a beautiful small wooden house. It is this along with the population of deer living in the vicinity, known as Pudú-Pudú, that were said to have inspired Walt Disney in creating Bambi.”

Here’s a video that I put together with the music of Chopin: Nocturne #2 in E Flat Major.  I hope you will enjoy the video and the music.

 Photo Gallery

13 Comments Add yours

  1. thirdeyemom says:

    I love Bariloche! It is such a beautiful place with nice restaurants too!

    1. friendlytm says:

      Thank you for stopping by. I did not realize there was so much to tell about Bariloche till I was writing those posts. Indeed, Bariloche is wonderful! There is so much to offer. I will post about the food in my food blog after I have finished the scenery posts. Yes, I remember there are some very nice restaurants there. The best trout dish was in Bariloche! And there is a pasta place where many celebrities had visited.

      So glad to hear from you. Have a nice weekend!

      1. thirdeyemom says:

        I will have to check out more of your posts on Argentina when I have time. Did you make it further south? I love the southern tip! It is so rugged and remote!

      2. friendlytm says:

        Thank you for your interest reading my blog. My answer to your question was mistyped in another reply box…please read that one. Thanks.

      3. thirdeyemom says:

        I’m slowly catching up and it looks like you did make it to Torres del Paine! My husband and I went there 9 years ago and did the W trek. It was one of the best trips ever. I loved it!

  2. friendlytm says:

    We went as far south as El Calafate in Argentina. But in Chile, we did go farther south to the Magdalena Island. Where did you go?

  3. rommel says:

    A forest created, that’s very nice to hear. Those trees are tall and mighty. Reminds me so much about my visit to Muir Woods.
    And whoa to your audio-video creation, the beauty of the place speaks peace to me. Thanks for the share.

    1. friendlytm says:

      Thanks so much for your nice comments. I learned about making videos after this trip. Iguazu Falls video was my first one. it was fun, if you have time, take a look at the other videos…everyone loves the tango one-Caminito and La Boca!

  4. Those pictures are beautiful! I hope someday I can visit Bariloche. Nice video too, it was relaxing.

    1. friendlytm says:

      Glad that you like them. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. sued51 says:

    Looks like a beautiful place! Seeing the flowers I wish I were there right now…we’re trying to recover from our blizzard!

    1. friendlytm says:

      Hi, thank you for stopping by. It was a beautiful trip. I hope your weather will get better soon. Take care!

I appreciate your comments

