My South America Trip #17 – Brazil – Caipirinha, Charrascaria, Brazilian Coffee and Coconut Water

Another post on food…in Brazil…I meant food and beverages..

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

Brazil

In Brazil, I learned about a new drink called Caipirinha.  It is alcoholic but made from sugar cane! Here’s the description:

Caipirinha

Caipirinha (Portuguese pronunciation: [kajpiˈɾĩɲɐ]) is Brazil‘s national cocktail, made with cachaça (pronounced: [kaˈʃasɐ]) (sugar cane rum), sugar and lime.[1] Cachaça is Brazil’s most common distilled alcoholic beverage (also known as Pinga orCaninha). Both rum and cachaça are made from sugar cane-derived products. Specifically with cachaça, the alcohol results from the fermentation of sugar cane juice that is afterwards distilled.

(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caipirinha)

Here’s a picture that I took, a glass of Caipirinha that I ordered.  How did it taste?  Pretty sweet…therefore I like it!

IMG_0499

How to make Caipirinha?  Although I am not interested to make it at home, I think some of my readers may be interested.  Here I found this video on You-Tube:

How to…

View original post 568 more words

I appreciate your comments

