Weekly Photo Challenge: Culture – My Yunnan Trip #2

This post is in response to the Weekly Photo Challenge: Culture.

I just came back from a 9 days’ trip to Yunnan, which is  “a province of the People’s Republic of China, located in the far southwest of the country spanning approximately 394,000 square kilometers (152,000 sq mi) and with a population of 45.7 million (2009). The capital of the province is Kunming. The province borders MyanmarLaos, and Vietnam

Reference: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yunnan

Yunnan is highlighted on this map

Yunnan prfc map.png

We visited (1) Kunming, (6) Dali , (12), Lijiang and (11) Shangri-la.

I had visited most of the major regions of China, including Xinjiang and Tibet.  Yunnan was the only major region that was on my wish list.  The opportunity came recently when a group of friends found a great deal for overseas Chinese.  So, our party of six joined with a big group of Chinese Americans, Chinese Canadians and Malaysian Chinese, and made our debut to this beautiful region:  Yunnan, which is known for its diversity and beautiful landscape.

When I go traveling, I usually look for things related to the particular culture of that area, such as the traditions of the local people, their religions or social behavior, their characteristics or sets of values or social practice that distinguish one from another.  In Yunnan, where 25 of the 56 minority groups in China reside, my primary interest was to be able to learn and appreciate some of these ethnic groups’ social and economic behavior.  Was I satisfied?  Not really.  The trip was too short (9 days only), and the distance on the road was too long.

We got to see four major cities where different minority groups live and make their living.  There are quite a few interesting facts which I would share with you later.

To give you a preview, I am posting a gallery of different ethnic groups I met in this Yunnan trip. Which groups are they? They are the “Bai” living in Dali, the “Naxi” living in LiJiang, the “Tibetan” living in Shangri-la.  Please stay tuned for the next few posts.

26 Comments Add yours

  1. Lily Mugford says:

    Fascinating, I want to see more.

    1. friendlytm says:

      Thank you for stopping by. Your blog is beautiful. I look forward to reading more of yours in future too.

  2. Tina Schell says:

    Headed there in Sept – so psyched! Look forward to your posts.

    1. friendlytm says:

      Thank you for stopping by. Hope to see your posts on Yunnan after your trip. Are you traveling in groups or private tour?

      1. Tina Schell says:

        Just my husband and I with a guide. Can’t wait!

      2. friendlytm says:

        If you find a good private guide, great!

    2. friendlytm says:

      Thank you for stopping by and your comments. I like your blog which is beautiful. Will follow. I look forward to reading more of your future posts too.

  3. seeker says:

    Welcome home, TM. I’ll be waiting for your show and tell.

    1. friendlytm says:

      Thank you for stopping by. I will try to write more. Please stay tuned.

    1. friendlytm says:

      Thank you for stopping by. I will write more about Yunnan soon.

    1. friendlytm says:

      Thank you for stopping by.

  4. Such a diverse country…can’t wait to see more from your blog 🙂

  5. the costumes are very colourful.

    1. friendlytm says:

      Thank you. Indeed they are very colorful!

      1. Denise, I watched your Post (#2) with the video, I find those dancers were not enjoying themselves too much, they seemed to me just like dancing “without a soul”. I suspect it becomes a routine to please tourists, am I wrong in my observation? It reminds me of certain Malaysian cultural dance that colleague arranged after work when I had project there, I was unable to enjoy myself because those dancers look sad of such routines (evening show), I as a viewer feel ashamed of myself of attending that, it becomes entertainment but not artistic …. perhaps I am too sensitive a person!

    2. friendlytm says:

      Sarah: I wrote you a reply on the video on my Yunnan Trip #3 but was lost. I will reply on that post so tat others know what we are referring to.

    3. friendlytm says:

      Sarah, I have replied you on my post Yunan #3 because the video you referred to is posted on that post. Thanks.

I appreciate your comments

