Shilin or “Stone Forest”: My Yunnan Trip #20

The final destination of our Yunnan Trip is Shilin, or Stone Forest.  It is one of the “must see” sites,  if you go to Yunnan.  See the video and the pictures I took, and you will agree with me.

Here’s a short description of Shilin, from the Wikipedia:

The Stone Forest or Shilin (Chinese: 石林; pinyin: Shílín) is a notable set of limestone formations located in Shilin Yi Autonomous County, Yunnan Province, People’s Republic of China, near Shilin approximately 120 km (75 mi) from the provincial capital Kunming. The tall rocks seem to emanate from the ground in the manner of stalagmites, with many looking like petrified trees thereby creating the illusion of a forest made of stone. Since 2007, two parts of the site, the Naigu Stone Forest (乃古石林) and Suogeyi Village (所各邑村), have been UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stone_Forest

9 Comments Add yours

  1. seeker says:

    Awesome wonder of the world. Thank you for sharing your trip.

  2. friendlytm says:

    Thanks for stopping by. I am glad that you like it.

  3. Wow Denise, what a unique place! I love your description of a “forest made of stone.” Beautiful photos. All the best, Terri

    1. friendlytm says:

      Thanks so much, Terri. I appreciate your visits to my posts and your nice comments.

  4. Tina Schell says:

    Interesting – we had to pass on the stone forest because of time pressures. Now you’ve made me really sorry to have missed it!!

    1. friendlytm says:

      My video was not too good. Otherwise you would have more regrets, hee hee! Some of my friends who arrived earlier than me, went to another even more interesting site named “Chiu Sheung” (ninth village). I also missed out!

  5. Clanmother says:

    You have a remarkable way of sharing your experiences! Just returned from my adventures and am looking forward to catching up with your!!! 🙂

    1. friendlytm says:

      Hi Rebecca: I am so happy to see you! Welcome back! I look forward to hearing about your adventures. My next one is coming up….I will be going to Eastern Europe again with family and friends, in a few days. Talk to you soon!

      1. Clanmother says:

        I’m looking forward to your posts!!! Great to be back!!!

I appreciate your comments

