China / Travel Photos

Inner Mongolia – How does it look like living in a yurt?

This post is in response to the readers of  Retireediary’s recent post Inner Mongolia and Shanxi .  His pictures of the Yurts have attracted many readers who are curious how the inside looks like.  I had visited Inner Mongolia few years ago.  My friend Link’s pictures are nice and include the inside look of the yurts where we stayed for one night.  It was an unforgettable experience!  With the permission of Link, I am posting his pictures of the Xilamuren Grassland, Inner Mongolia.

Some of you may ask, what is a yurt?  A yurt is a portable, bent dwelling structure traditionally used by nomads in the steppes of Central Asia as their home.

Why did we city dwellers want to stay in a yurt?  Well, if you are traveling to a place where people live in yurts, don’t you want to try out to see how it is?  In fact this was a suggestion I gave to my group of friends and family.  A very good friend who traveled around the world gave me this piece of advice when she knew I was traveling to Inner Mongolia.  She said, “You must live in a yurt. It was once-in-a-lifetime experience”.  Indeed it was.

The yurts were actually quite pretty looking.  They had modern facilities:  a TV, beds, and a bathroom inside the yurt.  However, there was no heat, and so it was very cold.  The bathroom had a shower area and a toilet bowl, but you could not really sit on the toilet because there was no space for your legs.  Nobody tried the shower as it was cold and there was something missing that nobody dared taking a shower.  It was not a pleasant experience.  It was already a luxury yurt!  My brothers’ friends who are much older “scolded” me….it was you who suggested to try this!  Well, once in a lifetime…!  I actually like this!

What do people do in the desert?  Horse-riding, playing bows and arrows, and to your surprise, driving around on a fancy four-wheel drive!  We rented one and drove around the desert.  Nothing much was seen but it was still an experience.

Inner Mongolia has a lot of history.  In this post, I only posted about the yurts.  I may do more posting in future when I have time.

I also want to say that the pictures of my friend are actually very beautiful.  When I copied them from Shutterfly, somehow they became smaller.   I could do something but in the interest of time, I would leave them alone. I hope the photographer would not mind.

8 thoughts on “Inner Mongolia – How does it look like living in a yurt?

  1. Screw the discomfort! I would love to try the experience. I’d be grateful for those discomfort. 😀 Cool post, nice pics, thanks for the share!

    • Indeed you should try. It is once in a lifetime for most tourists. If you do go to Inner Mongolia, let us know your experience! Thanks for your visit and comments.

I appreciate your comments

