Chinese desserts / Weekly Photo Challenge

Weekly Photo Challenge- Dialogue

 

 In response to Frederic Biver’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Dialogue, this is my entry.

imageDelightful desserts round in shape.

 image

Yummy  desserts:  round dumplings in red bean soup.

These two pictures are very common food pictures that I took at some  dinners in a very popular Chinese Seafood dinner in the Bay Area.  Do you notice one common theme in these two Chinese desserts? The “round” cookies/figure food (in the first picture) and the round dumplings in red bean soup (in the second picture).  In Chinese tradition, “round” shaped objects have the hidden meaning of “smooth or good relationship”.  The sound of the word “round” in Cantonese is 圓, which is the sound of another Chinese word 緣, which means 綠份,   “destined to have a good relationship that lasts forever”  .

These two desserts are common throughout the year, although most popular during Chinese New Year.  Good relationships are vital to a happy marriage or partnership, a harmonious family, a successful job project and almost every stage in our life journey.

Is there a dialogue between these pictures? Tell me what you think.

3 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge- Dialogue

  1. Hi again! I have seen the 圓 character in several restaurant names… they have always been difficult to translate so I think there must have been some sort of ‘play on words’ going on. I like how the soup bowls make a smile 🙂

    • Hello, I think you are very observant! I am not even aware of the smiling bowls! I hope my translation is correct. You saw the character 圓 in restaurant’s names? I think you probably saw 園, which means garden. E.g. 翠園 is a very popular Cantonese restaurant in Hong Kong, and probably used by restaurants in other parts of the world too. 😀

I appreciate your comments

