Travel Theme: Market

I was talking with another fellow blogger friend retireediary the other day about his self-created travel theme.  I then remember in my pre-blogging days, I did start a travel website which has different travel themes instead of categorizing my travel pictures by countries or destinations.  i wonder if anyone will respond to a travel theme I set.  Let me try this one.  If you are interested, please use the title Travel theme : market and link back your post to mine.

My first travel theme is Market. Wherever I travel, I like to go to market place to see what are available there, apart from doing some shopping.  These are more than these three market places presented here.  In the interest of time, I would like to start with three for now.

Pike Place Market in Seattle

Besides Star Bucks Coffee originated here, the Fish Market is one of the most interesting market places I found.

The Pike Place Fish Market, founded in 1930, is an open air fish marketlocated in Seattle, Washington’s Pike Place Market, at the corner of Pike Street and Pike Place. It is known for their tradition of fishmongersthrowing fish that customers have purchased, before they are wrapped.[1] After nearing bankruptcy in 1986, the fish market owner and employees decided to become “world famous”, changing their way of doing business by introducing their flying fish, games, and customer performances. Four years later, they were featured repeatedly in the national media and television shows.[2]The store is now a popular tourist destination in Seattle, attracting up to 10,000 daily visitors, and is often billed as world-famous.[2][3]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pike_Place_Fish_Market

There are a number of books featuring this flying fish philosophy.  I read this one which was based on a bestselling ChartHouse training video which has been adopted by corporations including Southwest Airlines, Sprint, and Nordstrom.

“Fish!: A Remarkable Way to Boost Morale and Improve Results”

If you like “Who moved my cheese”, you would love this one!

Pike Place Market in Seattle

      Sunday Market in Phnom Penh, Cambodia

If you have read my book Angkor Wat, Cambodia and previous blog post, you may remember that I have introduced the Sunday Market in Phnom Penh, Cambodia.  You can see from the photos here that the vendors sell very special food including bugs and grilled turtles.  Did I try any of them?  Guess!

Grand Bazaar and Spice Market in Istanbul, Turkey

Grand Bazaar is the biggest covered market in Turkey. We had some good bargains here. The Spice Market offers lots of Turkish candies called Turkish Delights, and spices including the expensive saffron.

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. What a great idea! I will look through my market pictures and post!

    1. friendlytm says:

      Thanks so much for your visit and comment. I just browsed at your blog. It is interesting and the photos are beautiful!

  2. connie says:

    Though I’ve only been to one of your markets, I do love travel. My destination sites are national monuments. The natural type, not the man-made ones. I’ll be hard pressed to narrow my choices to three, but I’ll take the offer!

    1. friendlytm says:

      Thank you! I look forward to seeing your post.

  3. Jill says:

    Love the photo of the Grand Bazaar in Turkey. Visited last year but didn’t realise it was so big and nearly got lost in the short amount of time we had allowed. Will be going to Turkey again next year and look forward to spending a day exploring this fascinating market.

    1. friendlytm says:

      Thank you for your visit and comments. I love the trip to Turkey.

I appreciate your comments

