Weekly Photo Challenge – Angular _My Spain Trip #4 -Guggenheim Museum, Bilbao

This post is in response to the Weekly Photo Challenge- Angular.  The picture I posted here is the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao, which I visited last month.  The museum was designed by the American-Canadian architect Frank Gehry.

From the Museum’s website:

“Hailed as the most important structure of its time when it opened in 1997, Frank Gehry’s Guggenheim Museum Bilbao has changed the way people think about museums and continues to challenge assumptions about the connections between art, architecture, and collecting.”

http://www.guggenheim.org/bilbao

 

IMG_6551

 

 

Here’s a closer view of part of the Museum structure.  The museum primarily collects modern and contemporary art. The flower “Puppy” by Jeff Koons (an American artist) is right there in front of the museum!  I will write another post on Puppy and the collections in the museum.

 

IMG_6619

 

 

My impression about this architectural masterpiece? I think it started a new wave in architectural design. Most of his works seem t o be along a similar theme. I have only seen the Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles.  The Opus ( a luxury residence) he designed in Hong Kong was said to have few residents, but I might be outdated.  I just heard that the new Face Book campus will also be designed by Frank Gehry!  We will wait and see!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Leya says:

    Gorgeous – I’ve always wanted to visit. Maybe next year? I’ll try to come back and see your other posts about it!

    1. friendlytm says:

      Indeed Bilbao and the museum are wonderful! Thanks for visiting my post and your comments.

  2. Very different angles in that building!

    janet

    1. friendlytm says:

      Thank you for your comments. I like your blog too.

I appreciate your comments

