argentina / post a week / South America / Travel Photos

My South America Trip #3 – El Calafate – Perito Moreno Glacier, Argentina

In my recent South America trip, the Perito Moreno Glacier in Argentina, was one of the most impressive natural phenomena.  I created the above movie with a number of very short video clips, and the music is Sleeping Beauty composed by Tchaikovsky.  I hope you all like it.

Let us get some information about this natural wonder:

Perito Moreno Glacier, considered as one of the seven natural wonders of the world, is found in Argentina located in the Los Glaciares National Park. The glacier is 97 square miles (250 sq km) and measures 19 miles (30 km) in length. Additionally, the glacier measures 3 miles (5 km) wide with a total ice depth of 558 feet (170 m). The deepest part of the glacier measures 2,297 feet (700 m).
Perito Moreno Glacier is one of three Patagonian glaciers that is not retreating. This ice field accounts for the world’s third largest reserve of fresh water.

http://sevennaturalwonders.org/south-america/perito-moreno-glacier/

After a beautiful one and a half hour drive through the National Park, we arrived at the amazing Perito Moreno Glacier.  We were taken by the bus to the very front of the glacier, less than 20 feet away. A short and beautiful trail led us from the shores to the upper viewpoints.  The guide asked us to be patient in order to watch for any glacial collapse.  I was patient but not my iPhone.  I waited and waited, took some pictures and video, and stopped.  Then it happened!  I was able to see and hear the breaks, but I couldn’t catch them with my iPhone.

Please see below a slideshow as well as a gallery of some of the images that covered both the journey to see the glacier and the glacier itself.  The water’s color is turquoise. The last picture at the end of the gallery belongs to HM, a travel-mate, who has given me permission to post.  The image of this picture shows the glacier collapsing.  I did see and hear it.  Indeed it was a unique experience!

Slideshow

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Gallery

3 thoughts on “My South America Trip #3 – El Calafate – Perito Moreno Glacier, Argentina

  1. Thanks so much for your comments. Indeed I was lucky! As I mentioned before, no pictures or videos could do justice to all these natural wonders. You need to be there, to see with your own eyes.

  2. Pingback: My South America Trip # 4 – El Calafate – Excursion at Lake Argentino | My Notebook

I appreciate your comments

